There are 11 grades to Black Belt as follows:

  • 10th Grade White Belt Beginner
  • 9th Grade White Belt with a Yellow stripe
  • 8th Grade Yellow Belt
  • 7th Grade Yellow Belt with Green stripe
  • 6th Grade Green Belt
  • 5th Grade Green Belt with Blue stripe
  • 4th Grade Blue Belt
  • 3rd Grade Blue Belt with Brown stripe
  • 2nd Grade Brown Belt
  • 1st Grade Brown Belt with Black stripe
  • 1st Grade Brown Belt with 2 Black stripes
  • 1st Degree Black Black Belt

When you join the Universal Self Defence Academy you are issued with a members manual which explains what you have to do to be promoted to each grade.